I really fancy chicken kiev…

No matter how full I am the thought of this recipe I found in the Slimming World magazine makes me feel peckish! It has set the standard for my scrapbook recipe book!

You have to try it:

20120419-220044.jpg

Chicken Kiev

Serves: 4

The magazine states that each kiev is 3 syns on EE, but if you save 1/2 Healthy Extra A and 1/2 Healthy Extra B it will be syn free.

2 slices of wholmeal bread from a small loaf
1 medium egg
100g of philidelphia light/ extra light
2 garlic cloves (I used 2tsp of lazy garlic)
4 skinless breasts
Fry Light
Salt and Pepper
Parsley

Ingredients I added:
Paprika
Chilli powder
Chives
Basil

1. Start by preheating your oven to 200C/fan 180C/gas 6

2. Whizz the wholemeal bread in a food processor! (I used my blender and it created perfect bread crumbs.) Transfer the bread crumbs to a plate

3. Beat the egg with 1 tsp of water and season (I added paprika and chllli powder ) Set the egg aside in a shallow bowl.

4. Mix the phillidelphia cheese with the garlic and parsley and season (I also added chives and basil)

5. Using a sharp knife cut a pocket into each chicken breast! Spoon a quarter of the cheese mixture into each, then close and secure with cocktail sticks ( if you have any…. I didnt use any)

6. Coat each chicken breast in the egg mixture then roll in the breadcrumbs (until it looks like a little hamster … Joke) and spray with fry light

7. Place in a frying pan over a medium heat and fry the chicken for about 5 mins. Turning once. Here is a pic of what mine looked like so far:

20120419-222611.jpg

8. Remove from the frying pan and re-spray with fry light. Transfer to a roasting tray and place in the oven to cook for 20 – 25 mins:

Serve with potatoes and salad

(or homemade chips and peas)

20120419-223047.jpg

One thought on “I really fancy chicken kiev…

Leave a comment